Skip to content

Oregon’s Hardy, Oregon State’s Stigall named 2022 Pac-12 Student-Athlete Leadership award winners

SAN FRANCISCO – Oregon women’s soccer’s Eden Hardy and Oregon State wrestling’s lane stigall have been named the 2021-22 recipients of the annual Pac-12 Student-Athlete Leadership Awards, the conference announced today. Hardy is the fourth Duck and Stigall is the eighth Beaver to receive the honor since the award was established in 2002.

The Pac-12 Conference established the Pac-12 Leadership Award to recognize student-athletes who have served on their institutional Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC) and demonstrated leadership. This Pac-12 Leadership Award is a $3,000 scholarship for postgraduate study awarded to one male and one female student-athlete each year.

The Pac-12 Conference Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which is composed of representatives from each member institution, selects the winners of the award each year from nominations submitted by each campus SAAC.

Hardy has been a member of the executive committee of Oregon’s SAAC since 2019, serving as the co-chair of its BEOREGON subcommittee. BEOREGON is the department’s diversity and inclusion initiative, which encourages people to be their most authentic self and to highlight and celebrate the diverse backgrounds of Oregon student-athletes and staff through education, events and other opportunities.

In addition to her SAAC executive role, Hardy has represented Oregon at a number of conference events to share her experience as a student-athlete participating in activism and the importance of using her platform to make change, including the Pac-12 Global University Sports Summit in 2019 and Pac-12 Green Team: Amplifying Voices for Change in 2021. She also participated in the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Impact Activism Panel earlier this year, where the group discussed social injustices in the United States and the importance of using their voices, and will attend the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Health Conference this week in Las Vegas.

Hardy has also taken advantage of other speaking and community outreach engagement opportunities inside and outside of Eugene during her time at Oregon. In the summer of 2019, she went on an O Heroes service trip and constructed a basketball court for primary school students in Jamaica.

On the field, she took advantage of the extra year of eligibility provided by the COVID-19 pandemic and finished her five-year career third in program history in matches played (85).

A biology major with a double minor in chemistry and Spanish as an undergraduate, Hardy plans on becoming a doctor and will continue her studies in medical school.

Stigall, who graduated from Oregon State in March with a 3.96 GPA and his bachelor’s degree in biological sciences, has been involved in leadership capacities with OSU’s SAAC and Student-Athlete Leadership Team (SALT) since arriving in Corvallis as a transfer from Missouri in 2019 .

An official member of the Pac-12’s governance structure as a SALT representative, Stigall worked to create, present, and adopt policy recommendations to help enhance the student-athlete experience across the league. I have created proposals for legislation dealing with graduate school preparation, academic freedom and transparency, and social justice.

A volunteer youth wrestling coach for the past six years, Stigall also volunteered his time throughout the past year as an online crisis counselor.

He scored a 519 on the MCAT last fall, the highest-ever score for an Oregon State student-athlete and has secured a full-time internship with Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU), a top public research university dedicated to health sciences containing two major hospitals in Portland. Stigall will work at OHSU while applying to medical school.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must have completed or be in their final season of athletics eligibility, be enrolled in or plan to attend graduate school, have been a letter winner in a varsity sport, and have served a minimum of one year on the SAAC campus. Other factors which may be taken into account during the selection process include other leadership activities, community service, grade-point average, service as a SAAC officer, and level of athletic achievement.

2021-22 Lane Stigall, Oregon State, wrestling Eden Hardy, Oregon, soccer
2020-21 Joel Walker, Oregon State, soccer Natalie Robinson, Washington, beach volleyball
2019-20 Winners not selected due to the suspension of competition because of COVID-19.
2018-19 Owen Leonard, Washington State, baseball Shannon Williams, Oregon, lacrosse
2017-18 Matt Salerno, Arizona, swimming Natalie Modly, Oregon, lacrosse
2016-17 Jack Anderson, Oregon State, baseball Taylor Ricci, Oregon State, gymnastics
2015-16 Patrick Woepse, UCLA, water polo Clare Wise, Colorado, skiing
2014-15 Justin Brinkley, Stanford, track & field Danielle Buchanan, Arizona, gymnastics
2013-14 Robbie LemonsStanfordbasketball Erin Menefee, Arizona, cross country/track & field
2012-13 Gareth Gilna, Washington, track & field Stephanie McGregor, Oregon State, gymnastics
2011-12 Greg Woodburn, USC, track & field Leslie Mak, Oregon State, gymnastics
2010-11 Thomas Webber, Arizona State, track & field Monica Graf, Oregon, golf
2009-10 Sean Mustafa Abdul-Hamid, UCLA, basketball Ariane Masschelein, Arizona, tennis
2008-09 Kyson Bunthuwong, California, gymnastics D’Anna Piro, Oregon State, gymnastics
2007-08 Justin Pollard, California, swimming Ingrid Kantola, UCLA, track & field
2006-07 Caleb Kirk, California, gymnastics Whitney Myers, Arizona, swimming
2005-06 Darrell Brooks, Arizona, football Anna Chappell, Arizona, basketball
2004-05 Emerson Ward, Arizona State, swimming Molly Seaman, Washington, gymnastics
2003-04 Jason Ranne, Arizona, basketball Nikki Neuberger, Oregon State, volleyball
2002-03 Adam Chivara, Arizona State, wrestling Janell Bergstrom, Oregon, softball
2001-02 Walter Chun, California, golf Cicely Clinkenbeard, Washington State, track & field

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.